Year Groups

Curriculum Overview


At Hall Mead School, we believe passionately that we follow an ethical curriculum that offers wide opportunity and participation and which meets collective and individual needs. We subscribe to the definition that the term ‘curriculum’ refers to the entire planned learning experience. Our aim, is to minimize gaps in understanding between students in the Academy through quality first teaching, enabling them to become active citizens of a democratic society by developing their knowledge of history, the world, science, and the arts. This will improve the attainment and progress of all students, because they will know more, remember more and be able to do more as a consequence of the teaching they experience and the environment in which they learn.

Core Principles

  • Ensure all students have access to a broad, balanced, challenging and knowledge rich education, matched to individual needs.
  • Provide a foundation that reflects the importance of English, maths and the Ebacc, including a Modern Foreign Language.
  • Recognise the value of creative and practical subjects.
  • Provide a curriculum that promotes students’ personal, social and health education, and British values.
  • Provide the majority of students with access to an academic education that culminate in a full set of GCSEs, whilst providing meaningful alternatives for those students who are unable to access GCSE.

In all year groups pupils study a core curriculum which is made up of:

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Modern Foreign Languages
  • Humanities
  • Religious Studies (this is taught as part of PSCHE in years 10 and 11)
  • Physical Education
  • Personal, social, cultural and health education (PSCHE)

In addition to this, pupils in years 7, 8 and 9 study:

  • Art
  • Computing
  • Design and Technology
  • Drama
  • Food
  • Music

During Year Nine, pupils choose the subjects that they want to study at GCSE. This includes GCSEs in English Language, English Literature, Mathematics, combined science, a modern foreign language, a humanity and two other subjects from a broad choice. Additionally, they have lessons in physical education and PSCHE (including Religious Study).